Skip to content
September 21, 2009 / Mark Kerrigan

The Long Road to Recovery


As this video shows, the recovery from head injury requires an extremely long time. While the brain is learning new ways to compensate for the brain damage incurred, the survivor is typically in a coma for a time. However, as my experience shows, the length of the coma does not necessarily correlate to the traumatic brain injury (TBI) victim’s ability to return to school, college or lead a productive life.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Andrew Penman / Dec 22 2012 8:10 pm

    My name is Andrew Penman and i had BRAIN INJURY March 89, i was hit on the right side of the BRAIn and Paralised on the whole of my left side, I was in a COMA for 4 and a half weeks leaving hospitol in a wheelchair and trainning myself out of the wheelchair. I am now married 10 years I train in Aikido, swim and I’ve got a book out called Reach For The Stars Andrew Penman’s long Unwinding Road to Recovery………. A Story of Self Healing.

  2. Andrew Penman / Dec 23 2012 4:53 pm

    My name is Andrew Penman and i had an accident in March 89 nearly 24 years ago. i was nearly 26 at the time off accident I’m now nearly half way there the big 50. i was in a COMA for 4 and a half weeks leaving hospitol in a wheelchair and On crutches and sticks for years, its all been a very slow job but go Swimming, train in AIKIDO, learn Japanese ,are married last 10 years and i’ve now got a book out called Reach For The Stars Andrewv penman’s Long Unwinding Road…….. A Story of Self Healing. Its an Autiobiography as my mother was keeping a diary at the time of the accident and it tells of me comming out of the Coma and all my phases and i took over the diary in my first year just writing things down etc. from Coma to living in a flat on my own trainning in the Japanese martial art AIKIDO, comming across a dating agency for a Thai bride to passing my driving test in an automatic after being told not to drive by pat Mccenna (head neurologist at rookward hospitol)

  3. Andrew Penman / Dec 23 2012 4:54 pm

    I hope to hear fro you reply.

Leave a Reply

