Skip to content
September 22, 2009 / Mark Kerrigan

Why Brain Injury Makes Survivors Like Toddlers


wheelchairtrayI don’t remember anything about my “accident” or the four weeks of April 1989 that I spent in a coma. This, researchers say, is Post-Traumatic Amnesia (PTA). PTA makes the head injury survivors like toddlers. As “Alicia’s” brother (I think) says in this video, traumatic brain injury survivors tend to satisfy their needs immediately. When he described her mealtimes, I’m reminded of my first few meals. I was strapped into a wheelchair with a clear glass tabletop attached, and when I ate, I ate as if I hadn’t eaten in a month! (Which is, in fact, the case.) There were a few other instances which cause minor embarrassment for both me (now) and my family (at the time they occurred). If you are interested in Post-Traumatic Amnesia or any other issues related to brain injury, I suggest you look here.

Leave a Reply

