Skip to content
May 3, 2010 / Mark Kerrigan

I wear sunglasses NOT because I’m on drugs…


Recently when I was at school picking up my son, I heard another parent say that when she first met me, she thought I was on drugs because I always had on very dark sunglasses–even when it was overcast. Now some three years later, she finally asked me.

I wear sunglasses because bright lights tend to bother me. It’s not too terribly noticeable–I don’t start screaming, “Bright light! Bright light!” but I find that I get more anxious and agitated when I don’t have my sunglasses. Like other bloggers, I find that without my sunglasses, I’m not a very fun person to be around.

I have recently read that common to head-injury survivors are headaches–which can be as debilitating as a migraine. Clinical Director of the Neuro-Recovery Head Injury Program, Traverse City, Mich., recommends that people who sustain traumatic brain injuries should be aware that they are more susceptible to headaches, and he provides an easy coping mechanism to deal with the pain associated with them:

Wear dark sunglasses! I have people who go from a dark building out into the bright sunlight and have instant headaches. You can get these headaches especially in the early fall or in the summer when the sun is very low, and when you’re looking at or driving into the sun. In general, the cheaper and darker the sun glasses, the better. Some people have used photo gray glasses; they tend to be not dark enough. (Click here to read more.)

In essence, just because many people wear dark sunglasses when they are loaded, it doesn’t mean that just because I wear shades I’m high. In fact, my future’s so bright, I gotta wear shades!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kari / May 4 2010 9:18 pm

    Hun~ you are just awe inspiring! Your positive outlook on your life and your presence makes this world an even brighter place to live! I am so thankful that you pulled through your injury; you are a very courageous and humorous man. Your future will only get brighter now that you’ve told your story, so double up on those dark glasses! 😉 xoxoxoxox ♥♥♥♥
    Kari

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention I wear sunglasses NOT because I’m on drugs… « Life After Traumatic Brain Injury -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

