Skip to content
May 5, 2010 / Mark Kerrigan

Help Nashville Recover from the 2010 Flood


This past weekend, Middle-Tennessee was doused with tremendous rainfall which resulted in more than 20 deaths and thousands of families losing everything.

Today I went out to Bellevue to help with the cleanup from the water that just kept coming….all weekend. Even from watching the news, you are only able to get a moderate sense of how bad the devastation is, but when I drove into the subdivision, it started to hit home.

In one condo where I was working, there was a piano that was turned from an upright to an anchor. We ripped up carpet, moved furniture and tore out the wood floors which were swollen from being submerged for days.

Although my fingers feel incredibly sluggish and my eyes are only at half-mast, I plan to go back there in the morning, so I’ll keep this post short.

Pray for those affected by the torrential downpours and the volunteers helping them try to reclaim their lives.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. mike / May 5 2010 1:13 pm

    Has Nashville ever had floods like this before? If so, why does it happend?

    • onthemarkwriting / May 7 2010 10:53 am

      I heard last night on the news this was called the 500 year flood. Just under 15 inches of rain fell in two days! That’s nearly a quarter of the annual rainfall.

      I’m a writer, not an engineer. I don’t know how we could have been prepared for this much rain in this little space of time… Would love to hear thoughts…

  2. Orval Christenbury / May 7 2010 12:17 am

    I absolutely hope that the government manages this particular tragedy better than they did with hurricane Katrina. Having lived through a flooding personally, I will tell you it can become truly devestating. If you are blessed enough to have the means to have the capacity to replace your own material posessions, there will always be some items that money can’t restore. My heart truly is out to these men and women and they are in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. pink magic / Jun 23 2010 8:07 pm

    thanks for the post! book marking now

Leave a Reply

