Skip to content
May 7, 2010 / Mark Kerrigan

Just a bump in the road…


When someone does sustain severe head-trauma, many times, they can go on to lead fairly “normal” and productive lives. When I had my first car wreck, I suffered two epidural hematomas, or blood-clots on the surface of my brain. The swelling forced my brain against the right side of my skull, and therefore I was paralyzed on the left side of my body. Thankfully, I regained fine and gross motor control of that side. However, I still have a funny walk. It’s been like this since I relearned how to walk, but I only became aware of it when a former employer of mine said, “Mark, your left foot kinda looks like it’s not sure where to go when you walk.”

I graciously explained that it was because I had to relearn how to walk, but he hurt my feelings–I became self-conscious about walking, etc…But I digress…

Recently Mutual of Omaha has come out with a commercial which really speaks to me. It’s the one which features the guy talking about losing his leg. He thought something like, “My life is over, what will I do now?” Go here to watch the video.

And for a while, that’s where I was. Within the past couple of years, I have decided that it is God’s will to have me help others who have acquired brain injury. It’s my Purpose for being on this world and surviving something so horrible that virtually no one expected me to be able to maintain a “normal” life.

While the circumstances surrounding you or your loved-one may seem like they are an insurmountable wall in the road, really it’s nothing more than a bump in the road. You will find the strength and determination to overcome whatever obstacle is in your way.

That was my Aha Moment. What is yours?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kevan Henson / Jun 17 2010 4:55 pm

    IN April of 1969,when I was 17years old,I fell while mountain climbing in Colorado and my brain was personally introduced to several big rocks on the way down.It was severely bruised in 4 different locations,there was a blood-clot on my brain,my right lung was partially collapsed,and my left lung had pneumonia in it.I spent 10 days in a coma afterwhich I was placed in a ultra-intensive rehabilitation program where I learned how to walk,talk,use my right side,get my vision straightened out again,and I also had to regain the use of my balance and coordination again.I also had to learn how to feed,dress,and potty-train myself again.This I was able to do in less than a montha after my release from the hospital in May of 1969.By mid June 1969,I was pressing 65lbs.with my right arm,pressing 200lbs.with my right leg,and I was running 5 miles a day.My speech therapist taught me how to talk again by teeching me how to sing.I returned to Widefield High in Colorado Springs,co. and graduate in May of 1970.

    I still suffer from post-traumatic-stress-syndrome and I have also have been diagnosed with multiple peronalities. I get frustrated and depressed easily,which prohibits me from inter-reacting with people,comfortably,and I also have difficulties in holding down a job for long periods at a time.I cannot balnce my checkbook,and I get confused,or lost easily-in general,my life really sucks!The only reaon I haven’t blown my brains out yet is because I can hold to the promise that Jesus Christ made to me.I know that I can hold him to that promise because he is incapable of telling a lie.That promise was made to me 2000 years ago whgen he willingly died on the cross for me.the son of God died for me.On the third day he arose againand ascended into heaven to prepare a hoome for me in heaven.I know that I can put my faith and trust in Jesus and nothing that Satan can say or do to me will dissuade that faith.Amen!

    I hope my message that Jesus Christ did die for you and on the third day he did rise for you.Amen!

    I understand what depression,anxiety,frustration on a mega-scale can do to a person becsause I have been through it every day for the past 42 years.Please,if anyone out there in tbiland is listening,there is hope.There is somene who can help and his name is Jesus Christ.Please write and we can share our experiences-Kevan

    • onthemarkwriting / Jun 18 2010 1:15 pm

      Amen to that, brother! Like you, I had to relearn everything–including holding my urine. And I was in a coma for a full month, but my recovery wasn’t as quick as yours before I was able to return to high school. Your fall was 20 years prior to my my car wreck, so I think your recovery was better than mine.

      Knowing that Jesus Christ died for my sins and lives in my heart often keeps me going. I am blessed to have a wonderful wife and a spectacular son, and when I count my blessings, they are first on the list.

      May God bless you, and may He be with you and your recovery.

      Mark

    • margaret green / Jun 20 2014 5:29 pm

      . Good afternoon. As I’ve previously commented, each of us is different; no two brain injuries are alike, nor are the ways in which we deal with them. Fortunately I have had a rich, full life with two University degrees, marriage, a family, despite a severe brain injury. The best thin, I have found, is to put the injury behind me, and move on with my life. Tomorrow is Saturday, and I shall be going to the Temple for Torah study, followed by Sabbatt service.

      Shalom.

      Margaret Green

  2. Birds, Cats, Dogs, Fish / Dec 14 2012 4:48 am

    Great publish, very informative. I’m wondering why the opposite experts of this sector don’t realize this. You should proceed your writing. I am confident, you have a huge readers’ base already!|What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It absolutely helpful and it has helped me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & aid other users like its helped me. Good job.

Leave a Reply

