Skip to content
March 7, 2013 / Mark Kerrigan

Using Video Games to Map Neurons


20130307-090950.jpgWith my personality, I know that I’m easily addicted to video games. Imagine my elation when I read that I could actually be helping others while doing something I would probably be doing anyway, and it’s all in the name of science!
The site is called Eyewire and was created by Sebastian Seung, a neuroscientist at MIT. He says that mapping the brain’s neurons is a task too large for scientists–even all of them all over the world! And since people reportedly play 3 billion hours of video games per week, what better way to get help than to recruit gamers!
Although it sounds difficult to do, it’s surprisingly simple—just color within the lines! However, as Seung says the neurons are irregular in size and shape.
Keep getting better, and I’ll talk to you again soon!

Leave a Reply

