Skip to content
May 17, 2013 / Mark Kerrigan

5 Easy and Fun Ways to Improve Your Mood


stay positive 25 Ways to stay positive

I know that when I was just going through life without a sense of purpose, I had a hard time being happy. Sure, I had more than most people, but that still wasn’t enough, something was missing. Although I now know that I wasn’t happy because I wasn’t really “following” Jesus, there are things we all can do to make ourselves more positive. This is especially poignant for the BI survivor. We all find what we cannot do what we once did without hardly trying. Everything we lost looms in the forefront of our minds. I’ve come up with five things that I try to do on a daily basis to make myself positive—to help me from becoming so blue that it actually becomes a depression.

  1. Thank God. Everyday, I thank God (substitute your chosen Higher Power) because I woke up. I’m able to get up and get dressed, and I am able to start my day as normally as most people do.
  2. Make a List of Gratitudes: When I start to feel down, I take a moment to make a gratitude list. I don’t deserve to have anything I have, but sometimes it’s good to just get my head in the right place by making a list of all the things I’m grateful for. Doing this keeps you from taking things for granted and wishing you had things you don’t.
  3. Give back. There is something inherently good about giving your time. Teaching someone to read, helping with Habitat for Humanity, serving at a local soup kitchen. These are all things you can do which will help others, but they will help you even more! Take my friend Eddie. He is one of the most giving people I know. Whatever someone needs him to do, Eddie does it. And only a few times since I’ve known him in these past 10 years has Eddie ever not had a smile and a laugh for those around him. Those were the times when he was in tremendous pain from a kidney stone.
  4. Think about everything you can do! When I feel blue, I think about the awesome things that I can do. Not like the other things that anyone else can do, but things like “I’m the best father to my son possible.” Notice, I didn’t say I’m better than anyone else, I just said that I’m the best possible. Or, you could say you’re better than you used to be.
  5. Get a pet. Studies have shown that having pets significantly lowers blood pressure of owners. And generally, pets are excellent secret keepers. I talk to my dog all the time, and I think, “If you ever learn to talk, I’m in trouble.” Play with your animal. This is the reason I think dogs are better than cats, but kittens love to play, too. Pet rocks don’t reciprocate love in most circumstances.

Although sometimes it can be easy to find yourself in the dumps and just want to wallow there, these 5 ways to improve your mood are easy and, best of all, free! Let me know if you know any more ways, and how these work out for you!

Keep getting better, and I’ll talk to you soon!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kevan Henson / May 21 2013 8:03 pm

    I’m glad to see that you are such a powerful Christain. It took me almost 40 years to figure out what Christ did for me on the cross, but once I figured it out, It all became so clear. I suffered a brain injury in a severe climbing accident in April of 1969 and I struggled with the concept of Christ for several years. It was worth the struggle because now I am saved by the blood of Christ that he shed for me on the cross. All that i can say is PRAISE THE LORD!

    Your brother in Christ,
    Kevan Henson

  2. srains01 / Jul 23 2013 10:37 pm

    Dear Mark,

    About three years ago, you completed a survey that I conducted about health blogs. I greatly appreciate your help with that project. I am working on a follow-up study and writing to see if you would be willing to participate. The survey takes about 20-25 minutes to complete and you may receive a small gift card for your time. If you are willing to participate, additional details about the project and the survey are available at the following webpage:

    https://arizonacsbs.co1.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_5t0mAEk1Bq7guOh

    Thanks for your consideration.

    Best Regards,

    Steve

    Steve Rains, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor
    Department of Communication
    University of Arizona

  3. daniellajoe / Jul 25 2013 3:13 pm

    Tr

Trackbacks

  1. New Content:Brain Injury Journey Magazine

Leave a Reply

