Skip to content
March 5, 2015 / Mark Kerrigan

Ol’ Man Winter, ya gotta go.


Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 6.54.10 AMEnough already! I’m tired of this nasty weather, short days and essentially NO sunlight to speak of. That’s right, Punxsutawney Phil or no, Winter, you need to get a move one. I’ll let you have your records, I just want you to end right now. (Side note, we did break the record for being the coldest it has been in FOREVER….) It was fun for a little while and then it just got old.

I’ve been missing the summer just about all year…Let’s see in 2013, hard to believe it’s been almost 2 years ago! I was working as a special needs counselor at a camp where we were outside 95% of the time. That was all summer! Then last summer I was a caregiver for several different clients. At least four days a week, I was inside with my clients. Most of the time they were cold, so they didnt’ want to go outside, which, when you think about it, wasn’t that warm even when it was 80 degrees with a slight breeze blowing.

Right now, I’m looking out the window watching the snow come down beautifully, softly onto what I can only assume is a sheet of ice. It’s been raining for days, and sleet or freezing rain woke me a couple of times beating on the window of my bedroom. So, Ol’ Man Winter, you gotta go. As if this weather weren’t bad enough, over the past week or so, we’ve had springlike temperatures here in Middle Tennessee.

All this gloomy weather, including the cold temps, makes people depressed. SAD–Seasonal Affective Disorder–is real and affects 1 in 10 people. And that’s more than just being blue because of the rainy weather. People with brain injury are more likely to become depressed and affected by external situations over which they have no control. I’ve noticed that when I don’t get as much sun as I need, I tend to become sad, or a bit depressed–nothing much but jsut a little.

When you add this to the conditons of having a brain injury, it can become much more severe if not disastrous. The injured brain has a protien, I think it’s called the T1, that attaches itself to the neurons of the brain, which can in turn make the brain more likely to become depressed.

 

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Jordan / Mar 18 2015 3:59 pm

    Thanks for the update! Thankfully things seem to be warming up around where I live, at least. It’s interesting how the weather can affect our mental states so much.

Leave a Reply

